Kirat Dynasty- Dynasty of Nepal

with No Comments

Kirat (Sanskrit: Kirata) Dynasty started to rule over Nepal after getting victory over Mahispals Dynasty king Bhuwan Singh. Kirati are also known as Kirant or Kiranti is an ethnic group of Himalayas of Eastward from Nepal and expand into India, Bangladesh, Burma, and other nations. Kirat dynasty started to rule in Nepal from the east in the 7th or 8th century BC. According to historians, it is believed that the Kirat Dynasty ruled in Nepal around 1225 years by 29 Different kings in Nepal. The first-ever known Kirat king is Yalambar or Yellung Hang, who is also mentioned during in Hindu epic “Mahabharata”. And the last king is Gasti hang and was overthrown by Lichchhivi Dynasty.

Here are 29 different Kirat Kings ruled in Nepal

S.NKirat Kings of Nepal
1Yalambar (Yellung Hang)
2Pari Hang
3Skandhar Hang
4Balamba Hang
5Hriti Hang
6Humati Hang
7Jitedasti Hang
8Galinja Hang
9Oysgja Hang
10Suyarma Hang
11Papa Hang
12Bunka Hang
13Swawnanda Hang
14Sthunko Hang
15Jinghri Hang
16Nane Hang
17Luka Hang
18Thor Hang
19Thoko Hang
20Verma Hang
21Guja Hang
22Pushkar Hang
23Keshu Hang
24Suja Hang
25Sansa Hang
26Gunam Hang
27Khimbu Hang
28Paruka Hang
29Gasti Hang

Some Important Incident during Kirat Dynasty

First Kirat King of Nepal- Yalamber

First King of Kirat Dynasty- Yalambar founded the Kirat dynasty in central Nepal after he got victory over Bhuvan Singh from Mahispal Dynasty. According to Mahabharata epic, it described that Yalamber went to observe the battle and take the side of the losing party. Lord Krishna, as he knew about the intention of King Yalamber and the unity of Kiratas with Kauravas, there would make the battle extended. Therefore, Lord Krishna cut off Yalamber’s head. For the honor of his bravery, Indrajatra was celebrated and his head was worship as god Akash Bhairav. It is believed that he ruled in Nepal around 785 BC.

Related: Who are Kirati and what is Kirat?
Related: Lichchhivi Dynasty of Nepal.


Seventh King of Kirat dynasty King Jitedasti ruled Nepal after the death of his father Humati Hang. During his rule, Lord Gautam Buddha (Siddhartha Gautam), traveled his home country from India and traveled Kathmandu valley and preached his new faith to the people. During his preaching, he was successfully able to gain about 1,350 disciples from Kathmandu valley and some of the ever known disciples of Lord Gautam Buddha were Sariputta, Moudhalyana, and Ananda.

During the Rule of fourteenth King rule, Stungko was the king ruling central Nepal. During his rule, one of the great emperors of India in search of peace came to Nepal during 269-265 BC. He was the Hindu king and later converted to Buddhism. During his visit, he traveled to the birthplace of Gautam Buddha- Lumbini, Nepal and built various monuments. Ashoka Pillar is the known pillars built by him in Lumbini. Besides that, he also built a stupa at Patan known as famous monuments. Stungko, although was not a great follower of Buddhism, since Ashoka was a great enlightened king during his time, he welcomed him as a guest and made him stayed in Nepal.

 Great Emperors of India - Ashoka
Great Emperors of India – Ashoka

The last king of Kirat Dynasty King Gasti Hang, due to his weak rule he was overthrown by Sombanshi and Nimisha. Therefore, they left their territory and moved to the eastern hills of Nepal and settled there.

Short Facts

The inscriptions found during Lichchhivi’s period we would able to know some information about Kirat Dynasty and found different places and administrative activities names that are derived from the Kirat Period.

Leave a Reply