Kathmandu Valley of Nepal

with No Comments

Travelling Kathmandu Valley provides travelers a unique experience while traveling to Nepal. Kathmandu Valley lies in the central part of Nepal where you can discover ancient beauties such as Temples, Monuments, Culture, Festivals, and more to explain. Kathmandu Valley has been a city where Hinduism and Buddhism are co-existence with unique in harmony without any disputes. If you talk about Nepal’s history and civilization, it’s started from the Kathmandu valley. There are more than 130 important monuments and historical pilgrimage site showing the importance of Hinduism and Buddhism religion in Nepal. There are Seven world Heritage sites within the valley (UNESCO Listed Heritage Sites)

Kathmandu valley is a present name used which was historically known as Nepal Valley or Nepa Valley. The valley is also known as Nepal Mandal. The Valley was a single state until the Malla Period and later it was divided into three states as Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, and Lalitpur covering an area of 220 Sq miles (570 KM Sq.). Until the Unification of Nepal into one Country, Bhaktapur was the Capital city of Kathmandu valley.

Kathmandu is a bowl-shaped valley in which the lower part is around 1,425 meters (4,675) above sea level. The valley is mainly surrounded by four great mountain ranges such as Shivapuri Hill, Pulchowki, Chandragiri, and Nagarjun.

Present State of Kathmandu Valley

Kathmandu Valley is the most populated and polluted city of Nepal. As Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal creating the economic hub of Nepal, different other places of Nepal migrate to kathmandu valley for the sake of opportunity which creates high population density in Kathmandu and an increase of pollution. Kathmandu is quite more popular for the Newari architectures and their cultures, traditions, Festivals (Jatras), and their dances, music, and instruments.

Special Note:

Kathmandu valley is not the native name for the valley. the indigenous ( Newari People) called Kathmandu valley as Nepa Valley or Nepal Mandal. Later the Name is transferred to Kathmandu valley.

Major Cities (Districts) of Kathmandu valley

  • Kathmandu District
  • Lalitpur District
  • Bhaktapur District

History of Kathmandu Valley

Historian explains that the valley has been inhabited before 300 BCE. There are various inscriptions found in Kathmandu valley which are dated from 185 CE.


Newars are the main indigenous inhabitants of Kathmandu valley and known as the creator of the historic civilization of the valley. Newari has its language as ” Newari” or “Nepal Bhasa”. Historically Newar people were the main people who contribute to the development of art, sculpture, culture, tradition, music, business, cuisine, architecture, and Industry.

The history of Newar in Kathmandu valley is unknown. However, it is assumed that they have been in Kathmandu valley since the valley is created. Newar is shown importance in the creating of historical civilization.

Different architectures created by Indigenous people ( Newari People) such as Pagoda, Chaitya (Stupa), and other monuments explain the development of trade and civilization and spread to China, Japan, and other countries including India.

The great known artisan Araniko, who traveled to China during the Kublai Khan rule in the 13th century, the development of different monuments and temple migrate to china making rich in Nepalese culture and monuments. Miaoying Temple in Beijing is one of his novel deeds reflecting the love and respect between two nations.

Due to urbanization and destruction of various temples and their cultural values in the name of Development, Newari people are always fighting for the protection and preservation of Nepal’s real identity.

History of Kathmandu Valley Based on Mythology

Many Historical explains about Mythology on Creation of Kathmandu Valley. The two Myth on creation of Kathmandu valley are based on Swayambhu Puran (Buddhist) and another is Hinduism Myth.

1. Buddhist View

According to Swayambhu Puran, the Kathmandu valley was formed out of the lake- “Paleo Kathmandu Lake”. The hill where the Swayambu Chaitya ( Maha Chaitya) is situated was once a huge lotus plant. Lord Manjushree travel to Nepal from china and cut the gorge at Chobhar (Historically known as Kashapaal) and create a place for settlement.

2. Hindusim View

According to Gopal Banshawali, Lord Krishna travel Nepal and cut the gorge with his Sudarshana Chakra and let water out. and create the valley making best for settlement.

UNESCO World Heritage sites in Kathmandu Valley

UNESCO World Heritage Site has included ten amazing sites in which Seven Sites are only in Kathmandu Valley. There are listed based on three different Districts.

1. Kathmandu District

  1. Pashupatinath Temple
  2. Boudhanath (Khasa Chitya)
  3. Kathmandu Durbar Square
  4. Swayambhunath (Maha Chitya)

2. Lalitpur District

  1. Patan Durbar Temple

3. Bhaktapur District

  1. Changu Narayan Temple
  2. Bhaktapur Durbar Square

Kathmandu Valley Pictures

Leave a Reply