History of Nepal- Independent and Nepal Dynasties

with No Comments

The Word “Nepal” is first attested in the Atharvaveda Parisista formed from the word “Nepa” of Kathmandu valley in Nepal Bhasa or Newar language who are early inhabitants of the valley. And according to the Sanskrit language “Nepal” is derived from the word “Nipalaya” meaning “at the foot of the mountain”. Similarly, according to Tibetan Language Nepal id derived from the word “Niyampal” which means “holy land”. The word “Nepal” also assumed derived from two words “Ne” and “Pal”.  “Ne” means wool and “Pal” means tented house. Because in early age people used to produce a huge amount of wool and made tents to store wools, people assumed the Name of Nepal was formed.

Related: Overview of Nepal
Related: Formation of Nepal ” Nepal”

Nepal- An Independent Nation

History of Nepal shows, that it is an independent nation formed between two giant nations India and China. Later, different rulers came from different places and started ruling different places of Nepal creating their kingdom and was scattered in various kingdoms. The great king Prithivi Narayan Shah, in his rule he re-unite different kingdoms into one single nation and the greater nation was formed.

Nepal- Dynasty and Their Rule

Gopal and Mahispals Dynasty

According to research, the history of Nepal; the Gopal Dynasty and Mahispals are believed to be the first rulers in Nepal. Gopal Dynasty ruled in Nepal for 521 years. They established their state at Matatirtha. Bhukta man was the first king of Nepal from the Gopal Dynasty. And the last king was Yaksha Gupta from Gopal Dynasty. After the end of the Gopal Dynasty, Mahispals Dynasty started to rule in Nepal. And the first king of Mahispals Dynasty was Vara Singh and the last king was Bhuwan Singh.

Kirat Dynasty

During the rule of Bhuwan Singh, Kirat attacked the country and defeat him and start to rule. They ruled for 1225 years by 29 kings. They came from the Eastern part of Nepal to Kathmandu valley. The first king from the Kirat Dynasty was Yalamver and last is Gasti. During their rule, the seventh king of the Kirat Dynasty was Jitedasti. During his rule, Lord Gautama Buddha returned back to Nepal from India and visited Kathmandu valley. Similarly, during the rule of the fourteenth Kirat king named Sthunko, the great emperor of India traveled the Kathmandu valley and Gautama Buddha’s birthplace (Lumbini) and start living here.

Lichhivi and Gupta Dynasty

After ending on Kirat Dynasty, Lichhivi Dynasty and Gupta Dynasty emerged migrated from the northern part of India. Lichhivi Dynasty ruled in Nepal for three centuries. This period is known as the golden period of Nepal. The first Lichhivi king of Nepal is Jaya Dev I. One of the famous historic emperor ever known was Mandev from Lichhivi Dynasty. He built Changu Narayan with valuable information about Lichhivis’ rule. Ansuverma was a courtier of Shiva Dev 1 who belonged from the Thakuri Dynasty and became King of the period. Thakuri dynasty ruled in Nepal for three centuries and Ansuverma was the first king of the Thakuri Dynasty.

Malla and Shah Dynasty

After the Thakuri Dynasty, Malla Dynasty came and started to rule in Nepal. The first king of Malla Dynasty was Ari Malla and the Last kings were Jaya Prakash Malla from Kathmandu district, Tej Narsingh Malla from Lalitpur district and Ranjit Malla from Bhaktapur district. The three kings were defeated by Prithivi Narayan Shah as was the end of Malla rule and emergence of the Shah Dynasty. The first king of the Shah Dynasty was Dravya Shah and the last King was Gyanendra Shah ruled from 1768 to 2008. Prithivi Narayan Shah plays an important role in reuniting different kingdoms into one single nation, born from a small state of Gorkha district.

Leave a Reply